Seismic restraint and bracing


seismic drillfast

Seismic compliance requirements can cause frustration and anxiety. Every project is different with many factors influencing what might be compliant and what might be out of bounds.

With this in mind, Drillfast partners with highly qualified engineers who will design and implement seismic solutions into plans on a case-by-case basis, considering the many factors in each project which influence compliance. 

We help you navigate through the seismic maze and produce the required documentary evidence, so that everyone on site can rest assured that the seismic solution provided is in fact compliant with the requirements of the Earthquake Standard.


Seven Steps to Seismic Success


Importance Levels


There are strict performance criteria for each seismically approved product to ensure that certain structures, based on their level of performance, are able to continue to perform during a seismic event. Buildings that fall within importance level three and four are those that Drillfast has in-depth knowledge of, paired with an extensive history of working.

The table of importance levels is as follows:


Importance One

  • Structures presenting a low degree of hazard to life and other property in the case of failure
  • Farm Buildings, minor storage facilities


Importance Two

  • Buildings or structures of ordinary occupancy

  • Residential, commercial and industrial buildings. (Except those stated in other categories)


Importance Three

Buildings and structures that:

  • Have large numbers of occupants (high-rise offices, sports arenas)

  • Shelter persons with limited mobility (Jails, schools, healthcare facilities)

  • Support lifelines and utilities which are important to a community’s welfare

  • Contain materials that pose some risk to the public if released


Importance Four

Buildings and structures that:

  • Are essential to post-earthquake response (hospitals, police/fire stations and emergency communication centres)

  • Housing large quantities of hazardous materials


Performance Categories

To ensure seismic compliance, all products undergo tension and shear load testing, and if successful, are placed within one of two performance categories: C1 and C2, C2 holding a more demanding testing regime, thus a higher level of seismic compliance.


Performance Category C1

Maximum crack width of 0.5mm

  • Performance stated in terms of strength at ultimate limit state

  • Scope of testing

    • Pulsating tension load

    • Alternating shear load


Performance Category C2

Maximum crack width of 0.8 mm

  • Performance stated in terms of strength at ultimate limit state, as well as displacement at damage limit state and ultimate limit state

  • Scope of testing

    • Reference tests to failure

    • Pulsating tension load

    • Alternating shear load

    • Crack cycling and tension load





Brochure Download


Please click on the images below to download the product brochure for a comprehensive overview of the product. In case you require further information, please contact us.